Baseball Ink

Baseball The Way It Was Meant To Be

Average WAR for 2023 Hall of Fame Candidates

January 05, 2023 by TheUmpire

We have converted a baseball player's career Wins Above Replacement (WAR) into a rate statistic which indicates the average number of wins above replacement a player would give his team per single season (avgWAR). uses the following scale for WAR values:

  • 8+ MVP Quality
  • 5+ All-Star Quality
  • 2+ Starter
  • 0-2 Reserve
  • <0 Replacement Level

It is our proposal that players having an avgWAR of 5.0 or higher are worthy of induction into the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Player avgWAR
Alex Rodriguez6.84
Scott Rolen5.57
Manny Ramirez4.88
Andruw Jones4.63
Todd Helton4.46
Carlos Beltrán4.39
Jacoby Ellsbury4.09
Bobby Abreu4.02
Mark Buehrle3.98
Jeff Kent3.91
Andy Pettitte3.89
Gary Sheffield3.80
Jered Weaver3.55
Torii Hunter3.46
Jimmy Rollins3.39
Mike Napoli3.06
Jayson Werth2.99
Matt Cain2.94
J.J. Hardy2.92
John Lackey2.84
Jhonny Peralta2.74
Omar Vizquel2.49
Andre Ethier2.39
R.A. Dickey2.30
Billy Wagner2.21
Bronson Arroyo1.98
Francisco Rodríguez1.74
Huston Street1.48

Stats from